Undo Sending your Gmail Email

Have you ever seen a mistake in your email right the moment you click “Send”? Google has officially added an Undo feature in Gmail. If you make a typo or regret sending a message, you can undo the action by enabling "Undo send." This setting gives you the option to take back a message you just sent.

To enable Undo Send:

  1. Sign In to Gmail
  2. Click the gear in the top right gmail gear. Select Settings.
    gmail settings
  3. Scroll down to "Undo Send" section and click Enable.
  4. Set the cancellation period (the amount of time you have to decide if you want to unsend an email).
    cancellation period
  5. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page. Now after sending a message, you will see a message like this. Click on "Undo" if you want to do so.
    undo send

If you had Undo Send turned on in Gmail Labs, your Undo Send setting will be on by default.

Note: To give you time to undo, Gmail delays sending the message for a few seconds. So if you don't select "Undo" within the time limit, your message will be sent. "Undo send" may not work if you experience connection issues.